Freitag, 7. August 2009
Hector Berlioz: Les Nuits D'été (4.) (5.) (6.)
Alle Texte (1. - 6.) Pierre-Jules-Théophile Gautier (1811-1872) ( http://www.recmusic.org/lieder/g/gautier/ )

Absence


Come back, come back, my dearest love!
Like a flower far from the sun,
The flower of my life has drooped,
removed from the charm of your smile.

Between our hearts how long a distance!
What a wide space our kisses divide!
O bitter fate! O cruel absence!
O longing vain, unsatisfied!

To that far land where dwells my love,
Alas! if I could only go!
If wings were tied to my body,
As to my soul, then I would fly!

Far away, above the green hill tops,
The lofty mountains with peaks of blue,
The meadows gay, the babbling rivers,
With quick, sure wing I'd take my flight!

The body can't keep up with thought!
With me the spirit goes ahead,
Just like a poor dove that is wounded
And lights on the roof of his cot.




And say, my soul, to my sweetheart:
O my own dove! fly with all swiftness,
Back to the nest hallowed with love!
You know well that he counts the days!

Auf dem Friedhofe

Kennst du das Grab mit weissem Steine,
d'ran die Cypresse sich erhebt,
und leise bebt?
Von dem Baum im Abendscheine
singt ein Vöglein den Grabgesang,
seufzend und bang.

Sie tönt zart und trüb, diese Weise
dringt voll Lust und voll bott'rem Schmerz
tief in dein Herz,
bannet dich fest in Zauberkreise;
solch Lied trägt wohl zum Himmelstor
Engel empor.

Dann gesellt in des Grabes Tiefe
weinend die Seele dem Vögelein
sich im Verein,
klagt, daß sie hier vergessen schliefe,
daß keine Zähre ihr auf's Grab
rinnet herab.

Auf den Flügeln bebender Töne
aufstiegt mit erzitterndem SChwung
Erinnerung
Vor dir schwebt in himmlischer Schöne,
leuchtend in schanken Strahles Licht,
ein Traumgesicht.

Nachtschatten die kaum halb erschlossen,
füllen rings umher lind die Kuft
mit süßem Duft,
und das Phantom, strahlenumflossen,
singt leis breitend den Arm nach dir:
Komme zu mir!

Oh! nimmermehr geh ich zum Grabe,
wenn sich nahet die Abendzeit,
im dunklen Kleid,
seit dem Lied gelauschet ich habe,
das von der Cypresse erklang
so trüb und bang!






Say, young beauty, where do you wish to go?


Say, young beauty,
Where do you wish to go?
The sail swells itself,
The breeze will blow.
The oar is made of ivory,
The flag is of silk,
The helm is of fine gold;
I have for ballast an orange,
For a sail, the wing of an angel,
For a deck boy, a seraph.

Say, young beauty,
Where do you wish to go?
The sail swells itself,
The breeze will blow.

Is it to the Baltic?
To the Pacific Ocean?
To the island of Java?
Or is it well to Norway,
To gather the flower of the snow,
Or the flower of Angsoka?
Say, young beauty,
Where do you wish to go?
Lead me, says the beauty,
To the faithful shore
Where one loves always!
This shore, my darling,
We hardly know at all
In the land of Love.
Hector Berlioz: Les Nuits D'été (4.) (5.) (6.)

... comment